Thread: Phytoplankton troubles

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Curious Reefer
    Thanks

Angry Phytoplankton troubles

I have been brewing my phyto for 3 years now with NEVER a single problem. Recently, my cultures ALL crashed, they went gray and clumped to the bottom and then the water went clear all in 48 hours. I had a couple of bottles from a previous batch so I cleaned everything to restart and same thing happened. I then cleaned everything with bleach solution, new air lines, I used one batch of my own salts mix and one batch of pre-made saltwater from the LFS. I disassembled the air pumps to look for bacteria or mold, I changed to new light bulbs ( they are only 4100k but they are the same exact brand I have been using for years. I bought a new starter culture disk from FL AquaFarms. I use MicroAlgae Grow from FAF as well, it is fairly new and kept sealed in my mini fridge in my culture room.

Now, my cultures are going green but there is all kinds of film clumping on the side of the culture jugs and there is a ton of settling going on that never happened in the past. It has been 2 weeks they have slowly gotten greener but they are a mess and I wouldn't use this stuff in my tank!!

Can anyone give me any troubleshooting ideas??? Like I said, I have never had any issues ever so I am completely lost!!!

Thanks... Shadd

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Hi Shadd I can't help with the phyto but I want to say to TR.
    Carmie

Only disasters happen fast!

Carmie's 54 Corner Tank
    Carmie's Cube

Show people you value their advice! Click the STAR icon at the bottom of the post to add to their reputation.

Thanks
    few questions

1. how old is the medium you are using and what is the concentration?
    2. Temp fluctuations... has it happened?