Page 1 of 24 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: Wildeone's Newest Obsession

Thanks

Wildeone's Newest Obsession

Note: While searching the Forums at Reef Central,e I came across a link to Talking Reef. I logged on and really liked the format and the fact that the podcasts allowed me to listen while at work (don't tell the boss). Originally I started posting my journal on Reef Central, but I decided that I want to post and continue it here and make this my home base for all things reef related.

Now I dont have any problem telling anyone that I am an absolute newbie to this hobby, but I am a fast learner and an all around tinkerer. I love to tweek on things and solve issues, thats what drew me to this hobby. All of the information and items that I have used thus far, I gained knowledge of online. I am sure, as with anything online, I will find my share of misinformation, but my hope is to achieve a successful reef system, get smarter and of course help the next guy.

So without hesitation here begins my journey:

The Desire
    I started wanting a FOWLR tank several years ago. Finances finally picked up, a new LFS moved close to work and I stopped by during lunch and BAM, I decided to get one.

I started researching online all about the hobby. After reading a long thread (50+ pages) on another site I decided a Nano Cube was for me. I then read about the cracking problem, the difficulty of mods, so I searched Ebay for a used setup in my area (local pickup only auctions don't draw a crowd). I was lucky enough to find a 65G that was only 5 months old, the previous owner upgraded to a 100G. It came with the tank, Current USA Orbit HQ lights, and a stand.

Here is a photo of it from E-bay:

And here is a photo of the unit after I got it home:

Leak Test
    I filled it up with H2O and did a 48 hour leak test. No leaks were present, so I drained the unit and tried to figure out what to do next.

More to follow...
    Last edited by wildeone; 04-27-2006 at 10:34 PM.

Thanks