Thread: What's the best salt mix to buy

Apprentice
    Thanks

What's the best salt mix to buy

I would like to know a brand which has Good salts like Instant Ocean (IO), IO Reef Crystals, and Coralife and No nitrates and phosphates ?
    Last edited by ronnyv; 04-18-2008 at 09:17 PM.

Thanks
    Millions of gallons of salt water have been made using the Instant Ocean brand product. I would say, for a new tank, it would work very well. As you advance in the hobby and need a salt with higher calcium/magnesium, etc, then switch to a product like Reef Crystals.
    I have Attention Defic...HEY LOOK, A FISH!

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    I've been using IO for forty years. It's true, IO comes up short on Calcium (350 ppm instead of 450 ppm) but instead of switching to the more expensive reef Crystals I simply add liquid calcium to my mixed salt water till it tests 450 ppm. That saves a little money and works great.

Dick
    Amphibious

Good Luck comes to those who research and prepare.

Our Talking Reef Forum The Cultured Reef Forum
    My tank journal Amphibious' 135 mixed reef.
    The Cutured Reef toll free number - 888 745-0449

Amblyeleotris randalli commonly, Randall's Goby.

SPS Reefer / TR Admin lReef lKeeper's Avatar
    Blog Entries
    Thanks
    I prefer Red Sea Coral Pro. It has a high calcium, alk, and mag content and is only about $55 shipped from foster and smith. It also performed very well in a recent salt study. Although the results are still pending, I have talked to him through emails a few times about it.

Thanks
    I have heard IO is a great salt mix, especially for beginners!

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Amphibious View Post
    I've been using IO for forty years. It's true, IO comes up short on Calcium (350 ppm instead of 450 ppm) but instead of switching to the more expensive reef Crystals I simply add liquid calcium to my mixed salt water till it tests 450 ppm. That saves a little money and works great.
    Dick-