Thread: New 90 Gal Reef Tank...new in hobby!

Thanks

New 90 Gal Reef Tank...new in hobby!

Hi all;

I am new to the marine aquarist hobby, but I have been listening for a few months now in an attempt to get up to speed.

A couple of questions for you regarding my 90 gallon tank (30 gal sump, protein skimmer, 3 powerheads, 100 pds of live rock, 40 various hermit crab, 30 astrea snails, 2 cerith snails, 1 emerald crab, 2 percula clowns and 1x5" open brain coral):

1) I never saw the tank cycle even though I was religious about testing the water parameters almost daily. The most I've seen at about the 3 week point, was a small and temporary rise in NITRATES. After multiple water changes and another 2 months, I have not seen any Ammonia, Nitrites, Nitrates, or phosphates??? Could I have missed something? Is there a sure way to check if a tank has cycled?

2) Assuming my tank has fully cycled, can I continue to add fish and coral slowly? What sorts of fish do you all recommend to add to the percs? (my wife likes flame angels and snowflake eels...problem?) We also added the brain coral abit early....limited coraline algae growth.

I look forward to hearing back from you all.
    Mizuno

Thanks
    Hello and welcome to the hobby!!!

Sounds like you are off to a great start. Depending on the quality of your Live Rock, the cycle could have been small and quick. You may not have seen it happen, but it sounds like if its been up for over 2 months the cycle would have come and gone.

I do not know how much flow your powerheads are giving you, but you may want to add more. It's rather surprising how much flow your stuff really wants.