Thread: Hippo Tang battling ich...help!

Curious Reefer
    Thanks

Hippo Tang battling ich...help!

Hi,
    I am new to the hobby and have a 72 gallon bow front tank with live sand and live rock...no corals (yet). My fish are all doing excellent but my hippo tang has a case of ich going on two weeks now. I have been treating the tank every three days with Ruby Reef's 'Kich Ich'. The tang (Doc) is eating and swimming around just fine but he does rub against the live rock trying to scratch the ich off. I tried a freshwater dip but only stressed him out more. He turned white and went to the bottom of the tank like he was dead. Soon as I put him back in the show tank he was fine. Anyway, any suggestions? Should I just continue using the Kick Ich every three days? Fortunately, there is no indication the other fish are getting it but Doc needs help. Thanks. Brian

Expert Reefer
    Thanks
    first off, tangs are notorious for getting ich. my powder blue gets it every once in a while. when he gets it, it goes away on its own in about a day or 2....like yesterday he had it, and today its not really bad...it faded away for the most part....he doesnt flash against the rocks or anything and it doesnt seem to bother him...at all.

but anyway, ill save the time of anyone else posting an answer cause we hear this all of the time on this site...and i wanna feel smart. =P

most people would recommend setting up a QT tank for him, and all of your other fish and treating them with copper...in the QT TANK, NOT THE DISPLAY. that is the most efficient way to "kick the ick..." if you have inverts, you can leave them in your display tank....ick cant live on them....so you are safe...

AND IF YOU DO HAVE INVERTS, DO NOT PUT COPPER IN THAT TANK! IT WILL KILL THEM! even if you plan on putting the inverts in later on, traces of copper can still be present in the tank, nd there is still a risk of killing them.