Thread: What The... FLOW!?!?!

Thanks

What The... FLOW!?!?!

Okay folks...

I need your "collective wisdom". I'm participating in a thread on another forum where the topic of water flow for seahorses has come up. I will admit that I'm no expert, but I've been very successful at keeping H. Reidi.

One (now two) of the posting parties have stated, and I quote: "I have to disagree that 'horses require lower flow systems....However, many people seem to think that 5x tank size is appropriate - in my experience, 'horses prefer much higher flow rates, in the 20-30x range."

20-30 !!!??? Did I miss some new scientific breakthrough that I was not aware of? What's worse, is the thread is about keeping Hippocampus zosterae!! They'd become "marine buckshot" in that system....correct? Now, keep in mind that the response above pertained to the poster's Comes or Erectus, I forget, but again, isn't that too much flow for a seahorse system?

I am always the first to admit that I can only keep learning...get better at providing the right environment for my charges...but this seems like potentially harmful misinformation to me. That is something I can't deal with.

Whats your take???

Dave
    ><((((º>`·.¸¸.·´¯`·.¸.·´¯`·...¸><((((º>
    ·´¯`·.¸. , . .·´¯`·.. >((((º>

"Fins to the left...Fins to the Right, I'm going home to play with my reef tonight..."

If you're looking for me, and I'm MIA from the board, email me at JustDavidP (at) gmail (dot) com.

Experience in aquaria, 37 years. Experience in marine, 22+ years. Experience in Reef Keeping, 8 years. Always a newbie!

Grand Master Reefer Seahorsedreams's Avatar
    Thanks
    *cough* Don't make me repeat myself *cough*

I use 10 - 15 for my seahorse tanks with calm areas and turbulent areas.

I try to avoid an over all low flow tank for I believe it encourages hair algae and gas exchange issues (like GBD in horses).

I know nothing of dwarfs.
    Renee

Thanks
    Oh repeat yourself daaahling... repeat