Thread: Introducing Coral to a new tank

Curious Reefer
    Thanks

Introducing Coral to a new tank

Rob,
    I have had fish only tanks on and off since 1975. I have set up a 125g reef tank, converting my wet/dry to a sump with a mag 12 for the output, AquaC EV-120 Skimmer, Mag 5 for the skimmer, 2 500gph powerheads, 1 1500 gph powerhead, 3 150W MH, 4 96W Actinic compact floresents, 80lbs of base rock, 30lbs of live rock, 100lbs of Southdown sand. I am filling the tank with RO/DI water tonight. I am new to a reef tank so my question is after I cycle the tank should I start with fish then introduce corals at a later date? and what is the time frame I should wait? I think I have everything I need, if you can suggest anything else I need for a succesful reef tank feel free to tell me.

Thanks
    Tom
    Mays Landing, NJ

Thanks
    Welcome to TR Tom

I'd introduce your clean up crew first- maybe after 6 weeks depending on what your tests are reading. Salifert test kits are the best when it comes to testing water. You will want to test for calcium, ammonia, PH, ALK, nitrites, and nitrates *at a minimum*. Anything you dose- you will need to test for. Some people dose Iodine, I don't think it's really necessary- water changes will replenish that for you. If you dose it, you need to test for it so you don't overdose. Save your money and not buy all those reef additives like I did. CA/Kalk is all I add for the most part- may need ALK and PH buffer too.

For fish- start thinking of what types you want- always introduce your least aggressive fish first. Don't buy a damsel whatever you do!!

Tell us what you plan for the tank. What kind of fish and corals?

Do you need a heater?

Sounds like you have a great start so far- keep askin questions
    How about a few pictures??

Thanks