Thread: Phytoplankton

Thanks

Question Phytoplankton

What is the best way to Grow your own phytoplankton? I have been using DTs for almost 4 years now, and have been absolutely impressed with the results that I have had with this product. I wouldn't have a reef tank without it.

Now, I want to know how to grow the phytoplankton myself.

Thanks
    me too, I think Rob was gonna do a show about this...

Thanks
    yes, i am goign to actualyl try and do video on it..
    Show people you appreciate there advice, click the icon under there name and give them Reputation points

Thanks
    whao 4 yrz, that must have been a forturn. what i do is get the dtz and start my cultures with those. that way i get the different types of phyto that dt offers. you can start with those algae plates from florida aqua farms if you want also
    |*****\\ARRRRRR//*****|

Thanks
    I grew my own for about a year and it's really rather simple. I'm on my way out the door, but will post more later today, unless someone else jumps in here in the meantime.

Basically what you need is:

Light source (I used 24" Flourescent fixture)
    air pump, tubing, (flex and ridged)
    2 Liter bottles
    RO water
    starter culture

Rob- video would be great!!! Love the ones you've done so far!

Cheers,
    Laurie
    Winners Train, Losers Complain

Thanks
    thanks.. i will be starting this video hopefully this weekend, or early next week.
    should be released in the next two weeks.
    Show people you appreciate there advice, click the icon under there name and give them Reputation points

Thanks