Thread: Help with Cyano bacteria

Thanks

Help with Cyano bacteria

Hello,

I currently have 2 tanks: a 240 fish only with live rock and a 75 fish only with live rock that I am adding corals for my first mini-reef. I have been a fish keeper for 30+ years, and have been keeping salt for 20+ years. Up until 6 months ago, you could have called me "old school", as all my tanks used wet/dry filtration, cheap protein skimmers, uv, coral skeletons and fake corals. My 240 happened because I had a French Angel in my 120 who was purchased 5 years ago as a small juvenile, but was getting too big for the tank. 6 months after setting up my dream tank, I decided to switch to natural filtration, but that's a whole other story! My 75 has been set up for 2 years, but was switched over to natural filtration 3 months ago. A friend gave me some star polyps. Big mistake! Then I picked up a Colt Coral (sorry for the lack of scientific names, I'm just learning corals). Then a feather duster. Then a rock covered with Mushroom Anemones. My wife finally figured out what was happening and gave me her blessing! My first mini-reef!

So there you have it. Everything is going quite well, with one exception. Cyano!

My 240 has red cyano in various places on the sand bed. These are small 1/4" - 1" patches, and there are probably a dozen or so. I try and get to them before they grow into anything more than a very thin layer on the sand. Twice I have found it growing on my live rock, but it was easily removed during a water change.

My 75 has a larger problem with cyano, but this is the blue-green variety. The funny thing is, this tank has a much lighter fish load (5 small fish), better water circulation (15 - 16 tanks per hour), and less powerful lighting (2 65 watt 50/50 power compacts).