Thread: Sally's new tank

Curious Reefer
    Thanks

Sally's new tank

The story all starts when I was 2 and a half. When my little brother was born my paretns gave me a fish tank to keep me occupied. I fell in love with fish. I have kept from ever since then and have studied them in school so much that I have a bachlors degree in vertebrate zoology and a geology masters degree where I studies fossil sharks.

For the most part I have kept fresh water tanks. I tried marine tanks when I was little but my family didn't have the money to do more than a 20 gallon with an undergravel filter. which at the time 25 years ago was high tech for a small tank. I have kept al sorts of fresh water fish from natives to tropical, to planted tanks to breeding soft water south american cichlids to hard water africans. 7 years ago they remodeled the petsmart near where I live. my brother worked there and was able to snag one of thier huge tanks when they remodeled. my mother looked at this tank and said to him that isn't coming in to my house. so I got it. the large tank on the system is 180 gallons and there were two top tanks on the system totalling 50 gallongs and a sump that holds up to 75 gallons. I moved last summer and the stand self destructed so when I rebuilt the system I kept the big tank and the sum. it is filled with lake malawi cichlids. I curently have tons of babies that have been bred in my tank swimming around the rock work. I have a 65 gallon tank as well that I have had for geez I have absoultly no idea now how long I have had it, got to be 15 years. In its current incarnation it has nicaraguan cichlids and some sanctoperca, with tetras and other small dither fish.