Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Paul's 50G fish only tank

Thanks

Paul's 50G fish only tank

Hello all, let me introduce myself

I am Paul from Dublin, Ireland and I decided to post my tank journal online because since I started using the site, Talkingreef, I found everyone so helpful and non-judgemental, which makes a huge difference when stepping into the unknown.

I have been keeping fish for about 7 years now. It started when my wife’s work place closed down and the office fish tank was left parent less so I adopted three Lionhead fish which I name Axl, Slash and Duff. I had the fish for 2 years and when the Gn’R 3 headed for rock n roll heaven (separately there was no R n’ R massacre) I decided to step it up a gear and to keep African Cichlids.

For the last 4/5 years I have been keeping the Cichlids with varied success. One of my favourite fish, Bellers, turned out to be a bully and killed 12-15 fish in a year. I found out later that this was mainly due to two things, having a tank that was too small and receiving poor advice on the compatibility of fish. So I got him a new friend, a blue lobster called Pinchie (the first Lobster i got climbed out of the tank dropped down the press crossed the room and hid under my guitar amp and died Rn’R).They appear to get on well and now the stress levels in the tank have decreased dramatically.

13.03d.jpg 13.03a.jpg

Bellers & Pinchie

About two months ago I bought myself a 50 Gallon corner tank with the intention of filling it with African Cichlids. That was until I discussed it with a LFS (freshwater only) owner who informed me that Bellers would always be a bully regardless of the size of tank he was in. He suggested keeping Marine fish instead (which I secretly always wanted to do but thought it best to wait until retirement when I would have more time)