Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Another Newbie

Thanks

Another Newbie

Ok, apologies in advance. I have not been really thorough in searching this forum and I have not yet listened to the podcasts. I am off to do that as soon as I finish this post.

I am completely new in the world of aquariums. My only experience in the past was a beta in a goldfish bowl. After years of begging my wife, she finally buckled and allowed me to purchase a tank. I got a 55 gallon tank with stand, second hand. The tank came with no lights and no accessories except for a Tetra Second Nature WDF 4000.

My goal with the tank was to have coral, anenomes and a few fish. After talking to a few people at the fish stores, I was quickly slapped with the price tag and passed out. I think I am going to try a community tank with a few fish, mostly dead rock, but a few live rock.

Now for my questions... It took years of pleading to get this tank, and if I spend $400 bucks on a light, my wife will quickly terminate the project. Would a cheap hood light with a 40 watt bulb or two suffice for what I am doing? Or is the rock going to require the 200 to 300 watts I have read about? I was hoping I could get away with spending under $100 for lights.

I cleaned the filter that came with the tank and it works. I have no idea, however, if it is approperate for my tank. By the 4000 designation, am I right to assume its for a 40 gallon tank? Does anyone know this is a good filter?

I am being told that I should run at least one, if not two filters for the tank (at around $60 a pop). If this is true, should I just spend the $200 and go with a wet/dry trickle filter? I am also getting polar suggestions on the use of canister and undergravel filter.

Any help would be appriceated.

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Hi gerh,