Thread: Newbie here

Thanks

Newbie here

Hi Folks,

Just wanted to 'jump in' and let you all know that I recently joined TalkingReef. I am relatively new to salt water aquariums as well. I staretd my first marine aquarium back in July 2012, a 75-gallon standard, and only had live rock and a bunch of Turban and Astraea snails in it until last November, when I bought a 'Fire' shrimp. Back in December, I decided that I will make this a Hawaiian biotope tank, as I am coming up on my 15th (wedding) anniversary, and my bride and I spent our honeymoon in Hawaii. So, I picked up my first Yellow Tang back in December - it's doing very well, so far. (Note: I added a Blue Damsel and a few Blue/Green Chromis recently. And, I also added the (proverbial) Clown Fish (Amphiprion ocellaris). But I know that these are not native/indigenous to Hawaii - I added them just because I like them.)

I have compiled a list of aquarium-suitable fishes native/indigenous to Hawaii from Fishbase.org, and have tentatively highlighted a few that may be appropriate (based on care level, temperament, etc.) for my tank, including Lemonpeel Angelfish, Auriga Butterfly Fish, and Orange Butterflyfish. However, there are quite a few on my compiled list (254 to be exact), and I have a ways to go in my learning curve before I make my next purchase. Oh, did I mention, I am also looking into some soft corals?

Anyway, I look forward to perusing the various boards/threads here at TalkingReef, and I am sure I will learn more than I need to know (you never stop learning, right?).

-Brian

Thanks
    Welcome to the site. Got any pics of your tank? We like eye candy. What part of new England you from? Maine here. Like the avatar pic..I grew up fly fishing for Atlantic salmon so I can spot a classic fly pattern from a mile away lol.

Thanks
    Thanks for the reply SaltyDawg.