Thread: Coral Advise

Thanks

Coral Advise

Hey everyone, My name is Harry. I have been poking around here for a few years. It is a great place
    for information on this hobby. I have had my FOWLR tank running for years, and now I want to add some corals.
    I purchased my first coral (Daisy Polyp - Clavularia sp.). It has been in the tank for a month and is already spreading
    to adjacent rocks. My question is what corals would you recommend for a coral newbie to start with. Something I can
    ease into reefing with. I also have an I.D. question I will post that in the proper forum. Thanks in advance for the help,
    and for all the info I got off this site and pod casts to start my FOWLR tank over the years.

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Hi Harry and Welcome to TR.

Some easy corals for starters would be, zoe's, mushrooms, and soft corals. There are also a few low light LPS corals like frogspawn that you can start with too. What type of lights do you have on your tank?
    Ray or Raymond
    There is no elevator to success in marine tanks. You have to take the stairs.

Raymond's 30 gallon tank
    Raymond's 60 gallon tank

Show people you appreciate their advice! Click the star icon under their name to add to their reputation.

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Hi Harry,

The lighting information will help us make suggestions.
    Carmie

Only disasters happen fast!

Carmie's 54 Corner Tank
    Carmie's Cube

Show people you value their advice! Click the STAR icon at the bottom of the post to add to their reputation.

Blog Entries
    Thanks
    Welcome to TR, Harry.

WE need to know more about your system, lighting, filtration type, water parameters, how long has it been up?

Dick
    Amphibious

Good Luck comes to those who research and prepare.

Our Talking Reef Forum The Cultured Reef Forum
    My tank journal Amphibious' 135 mixed reef.
    The Cutured Reef toll free number - 888 745-0449

Amblyeleotris randalli commonly, Randall's Goby.

Thanks