PDA

View Full Version : Thanks from a Newbie

rroselavy
05-09-2006, 09:25 PM
Hey folks-

I just thought I'd offer my thanks to Rob (and pals) for the excellent work in creating the first podcast series I've ever followed. My iPod was almost collecting dust before I stumbled on TR. I just had a "Talking Reef Marathon" over the past ten days by listening to all 49 episodes (+ the video DIY's). Phew! Congrats in advance for the 50th episode!

I am brand new to Aquariums, having just recently cycled a 24G Nano DX "for my 3 year old daughter", gradually adding a cleanup crew, a Spotted Cardinal and an Ocellaris Clown. We are having a blast, especially watching the Cleaner Shrimp grab food (and sometimes fish) and the Clown slurp down (spit up and then re-slurp) bloodworms. Even though my enthusiasm hasn't quite reached the "culturing phytoplankton" or "caring for Aeolid Nudibranchs" level, I have already imagined setting up a second tank for my office. Right now, my efforts are strictly FOWLR, but I would like to care for some corals if I can muster the courage to tackle some tank mods and concepts like Kalk drips.

Anyhow, I'll save my current questions for more appropriate threads. The internet seems to be busting at the seams with reef info, and this community seems like a great place to start.

Scott
05-09-2006, 09:48 PM
rroselavy...WELCOME TO TR!!!

So glad you stumbled across the podcasts and the site. Rob does such a good job with those podcasts!

Sounds like you are having fun getting your tank setup. You'll love it!

dreams
05-10-2006, 08:02 AM
welcome to TR, rroselavy:-)

JustDavidP
05-10-2006, 09:08 AM
RRoselavy,

Welcome! Enjoy your dip into the hobby. Take your time, take it slow. When you attain a comfort level with Marine Aquaria, you'll be ready to tackle different projects. Read, learn, read more and learn more :) It's addictive!