PDA

View Full Version : Hitchhikers on Star Polyps - good or bad?

mcastfalk
07-15-2009, 08:56 PM
I had posted a question about little feather dusters I have in my tank and someone posted a link to a site about hitchhikers. Something I saw on this site has me concerned.

I purchased star polyps on Monday night. When I put the star polyps in the tank, I noticed that there was a little grayish purple slug crawling on the polyps. He had several bushy projections on either side of him. I figured it was a nudibranch of somesort and left him there for the night. The next morning he was still there. Now, I don't see him.

How do I know if he is harmful to the coral? He was very tiny, no more than 1/4 inch at most. I figured the fish ate him. What should I do. Should I be concerned that he may eat the corals.

I really have no idea what I am doing. I'm new to adding corals to the tank.

Michael

Phurst
07-15-2009, 09:46 PM
Almost all nudibranchs have very specific diets, so even if it does turn out to be a coral eater, it's not going to wipe out your tank. Some of the most common nidis are zoa eating nudi's and monti eating nudis. Do you have either in your tank? There IS a less common one that eats onlt star polyps, so that could be it as well. There are several fish that would make quick work of a nudi. What fish are in your tank? Either way, I don't think I'd worry too much about it. If it's eating something in your tank, it'll be pretty obvious soon.

lance
07-16-2009, 12:50 AM
got a picture of it?

lance

mcastfalk
07-16-2009, 07:19 AM
Some of the most common nidis are zoa eating nudi's and monti eating nudis. Do you have either in your tank?

No. I'm new to corals and only started with the star polyps.

There are several fish that would make quick work of a nudi. What fish are in your tank? Either way, I don't think I'd worry too much about it. If it's eating something in your tank, it'll be pretty obvious soon.

The only fish is a pajama cardinal for now.