PDA

View Full Version : need reef giudance

street_fury
04-05-2009, 12:45 AM
whats up reefers,i am new to the game,i am thinkin of getting the jbj 28 gallon nano .ive been fasinated with a reef tank,and now i think i am goin 2 do it.my question is being that i am a new be is maintaining this unit alot of work ?and i have a lil experience with salt water.right now i have a 30 gallon boe front with a pc light...2 tangs,2 clowns,2 damsels,and a 6 line.a bunch of snails and crabs,and like 25 pounds live rocks,protein skimmer and a fluval canister filter.i use R/O water in tank.i added sum polyps and its been about a month and they are still alive.but i kinda like the jbj 28g nano so im thinkin about switching tanks.i need some guidance and i have all the test kits,calcium,phosphate remover,kent marine reef kit,i basically have everything thats needed to start a real reef tank.any suggestions??????canister filter keeps nitrate level high but i will be sellin this tank to get jbj nano..just need 2 be sent on the right path to being successful at keepin a reef tank,,,

Amphibious
04-05-2009, 06:40 PM
OK Lance,

Welcome to TR.

I'd suggest you read three things before you get started.

1. My tank build thread. It's a larger tank but the principle is the same. You don't have to do everything I did but, this thread has been recommended by many TR reefers as a must read. It's long and I suggest you skip through the posts that go off message. Here's the link - Amphibious' 135 gal reef (http://www.talkingreef.com/forums/member-tank-projects/412-amphibious-135-gal-reef.html)

2. The best explanation on how the "cycle" evolves over time. - The Building of a Reef (http://forum.marinedepot.com/Topic23945-9-1.aspx) by Eric Borneman. Another must read!

3. My article, "Nine simple Rules" to healthier fish. - Nine simple Rules (http://theculturedreef.com/nine-rules.htm). People have also branded this one a must read.

Dick

stefalopod
04-05-2009, 08:28 PM
Hi Street Fury, and welcom =)