PDA

View Full Version : What is this? Please help!

amy
03-18-2009, 08:40 PM
Could someone please help in telling me what this is? Obviously I am new at this.....had our tank going now for 5 or so months. Has done great. No losses.........so far. Anyway, my husband brought this home this past saturday. He just got it cause it looked "cool" and has no clue what it is. The place he bought it from also sold him frozen brine shrimp to feed it. It moves all around on the rocks. There were 6 of them on this piece of rock he bought. 4 of them are still in the same spot, but 2 of them have been traveling around on the nearby rocks. I would just like to know what is is. Is it good or bad? Thank you in advance. I hope I attach the picture correctly.......thanks again.

Phurst
03-18-2009, 08:47 PM
They're anemones. Almost certainly majanos. Generaly considered a pest due to the fact that they CAN multiply quickly (although not as quickly as aptasia) and will sting any corals they come in contact with. Most people actively try to remove them from their tanks, which can be quite a battle since they move and reproduce. I say most, because there certainly are people out there who like them. Particularly the "tulip" variety with it's green body and red tentacle tips.

I won't go so far as to say tour LFS took advantage of you, since some people do want these guys, but I've never seen any LFS try to actualy sell them before.

wowsieskewlreef
03-18-2009, 09:28 PM
i SUGGEST YOU JUST TRY TAKING OUT THE LIVE ROCK( IF YOU DON'T HAVE OTHER CORALS ) 1)INJECT SOMETHING INTO IT( I've HEARD IT FROM OTHER WEBSITES) or 2) Boil it, remove anything of the leftover of the anemone. Sorry, caps lock was on!

amy
03-18-2009, 10:01 PM