PDA

View Full Version : Colt coral

Catalyst
01-26-2009, 10:06 PM
Hey everyone. I am just starting out with reef tanks and salt water altogether. Here is my dilemma; My tank just finished the cycling process two weeks ago, so we added 10 hermit crabs to start cleaning stuff up. My father also added a green colored coral which is flourishing and doing very well (pic below). I went to the LFS last week and picked up a nice looking colt coral and two clown fish to add to the tank since the nitrates, salinity, temp, and ammonia looked good. I floated the coral in the water for 30 minutes to equalize the temp before placing him near the top of my liverock structure. That was last thursday... Today it looks weepy and it appears that the coral is shrinking to an extent. The "foot" of the coral looks like its lifting off the base rock that it came with. Here are some before and after photos. What is going on?
http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g150/farva187/DSCF0055.jpg Before
http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g150/farva187/DSCF0064.jpg After

My other coral. anyone know which species this is? When the polyps retract, it is just a big purple rock.
http://i55.photobucket.com/albums/g150/farva187/DSCF0066.jpg

Thank you for your help.

Phurst
01-26-2009, 10:32 PM
Bottom pic is green star polyps. A pretty coral to be sure, but you'll thank yourself later if you make sure the rock it's growing on is isolated and not touching any other rocks. That stuff can grow very quickly and can take over a tank. Keeping it confined to one rock is the best way to still enjoy the coral, but keep it in check.

Colts and other softies will shrink and expand with some regularity. We would have a better shot at deciding if it's normal or if it's in trouble if you could post your current water parameters.

Skurvey Dog
01-26-2009, 10:35 PM