PDA

View Full Version : Phytoplankton - Nutritional Value

Marauder-m
04-19-2006, 09:01 PM
I'm looking into Phytoplankton culture and was wondering if there is any particular type of phyto that is best in terms of nutritional value?
Having looked around a bit I have found a source of Nannochloropsis oculata available as a starter culture. Can anyone suggest some pro's and con's?
These may be a silly questions, but I'm relatively new to the marine aquarium hobby and am making a concerted effort to become more informed. Any and all help will be gratefully received.

gwen_o_lyn
04-19-2006, 09:09 PM
I think it's a great question! I don't do the phyto thing so I can't answer.

Rob
04-19-2006, 09:10 PM
i dont know if i can answer this specifically, but i will ask our resident algae expert from AlgaGen to answer if he can

AlgaGen
04-20-2006, 12:43 AM
There are a number of strains commonly used in aquaculture, Nanno is one, so is Isochrysis galbana (T. iso/C. iso), Chaetoceros spp., Monochrysis lutherii (pavlova), Thalassiosira fluvialis (diatom) amongst others. Nanno is common for several reasons 1) it is relatively easy to grow and, 2) it has a lot of a fatty acid called EPA..great stuff plus a number of other pigments and proteins. Nanno is commonly used for rotifer culture and in green water larval production.