PDA

View Full Version : Apartment Lobby Aquarium

stevefranks
03-31-2006, 02:42 PM
Hi everyone,

I would firstly like to say a massive thanks to Rob for all his help with both my own tank, and my work tank. I have gone from an absolute beginner to a beginner in just a few months! I really couldnt have done it without him.

I have been MSNing Rob, which is a bit naughty as it takes up peoples time, but also means no-one else benefits in the forums. I am now posting a tank journal so that everyone can see what I have had questions and problems with.

The tank is an 8ft x 2ft x 2ft custom build by Tank Build UK. The workmanship was poor, and the cost high. Any English viewers beware. The tank (with weir and pipework) and 5ft x 18" x 12" sump came in at about £1300. I was very disappointed by the work.

Anyway.....the tank is situated in the lobby of a block of 24 apartments we have built in Peterborough UK. The stand was built by our carpenters from 6"x2" and 3/4" ply. The system will have 4" DSB and 150kg live rock (Indonesian). I had a massive row with the supplier who sold us Fijian and delivered Indonesian (poor quality from what I can tell by looking at it).

Here are some photos of the tank etc...it is now on the stand and filling (drip by drip) from the RO unit...painful! It has taken days to fill 1/4 full...

http://britishstoneauctions.co.uk/p1040139http://www.britishstoneauctions.co.uk/halides.jpgLighting consists of 3 x 250w 10,000k MH's, 4 x 5ft 58w Actinics and 1 x Moontube 4ft.

Pump is Oceanrunner 6500, Skimmer Tunze Comline, Heaters = Tetra 300w x 5, Powerheads = MaxiJet 1200's x 5, Reef Crystals for salt (on Robs recommendation!)

I shall post again when tank is full and cycling..
http://britishstoneauctions.co.uk/halides.jpg
http://britishstoneauctions.co.uk/1040141.jpg

gwen_o_lyn
03-31-2006, 10:07 PM
Looks great Steve!

Scott
04-01-2006, 12:19 AM
I agree, it looks great. And watching the progress is going to be great.

Thanks for sharing! :)