PDA

View Full Version : New to Nano Reefs

Jerseygirl0398
12-02-2007, 06:28 PM
Okay so im a newbie :wow: and i have had some trouble i was on the new to salt water forum and i was impressed at the responses i received. I have a 10-15 gallon octagon tank thats the only way i can describe it LOL. i have my water mixed and i put live sand on the bottom and live rock in got my filter going, now i was wondering if i needed anything else. The marine fish store i was at last night told me i wouldnt need a protein skimmer because the live rock already does all that you need it to. I am not sure now what to do if i should buy a protein skimmer or not, and is there anything else i need to have, i have the basics the light the filter the heater that sort of stuff but is there anything else i need?. I could use a few pointers. I dont have any fish in yet because the marine fish store guy told me that i had to wait at least two months before putting anything live in there besides the live rock, he said that after two months i should start with damsels, and maybe a cleaner shrimp to properly acclimate the tank itself. and then move on to clown fish and or a few different kinds of fish. Im kinda iffy about the damsels because ive read that they are okay and easy and gentle when they are young but they get older and aggresive which kind of makes me uneasy because if i want to put any other fish in i dont want them to kill the new fish. Any adivice? ;)

Phurst
12-02-2007, 06:54 PM
Welcome back!