PDA

View Full Version : Connecting Tanks

jonathanw
10-18-2007, 09:28 AM
I recently connected a new tank to my existing 14 gallon nano reef that I have been enjoying for the last 2 years.

The new tank is also 14 gallons but is hexagonal and vertical. I am using an overflow/skimmer and it is working well. The new tank is intended to be fish and live rock and I have it lit with a dim 10 LED blue/white Rio Mini Sun. It has a deep sand bed, lots of live rock up the back side, three very small percula clowns, a variety of snails, a cowrie, a hermit crab and a chocolate chip starfish. It looks great with the dim blue light playing off the rocks and sand.

My old tank has a small tomato clown, a blue damsel, and a spotted cardinal as well as clean-up crew. It also has a green star polyp that dominates one side of the tank and some button corals that aren't faring so well on the other side.

My questions.

1. Since the water is circulating between the tanks, will the sand critters eventually make it over to the new tank sandbed? Or is that too much to expect. Is there a way to help that along? I do have some cyano bacteria issues in the old tank that I would like to avoid bringing over to the new tank.

2. Would it be possible to cull part of the green star polyp periodically to bring over to the new tank to feed the starfish? Would doing this monthly be too traumatic to the coral? Would the starfish appreciate it?

Jonathan

Amphibious
10-18-2007, 09:47 AM
jonathanw,

Welcome to TR.

Q1. I doubt that many of your sand critters will make it over to your new tank. The exception might be the larval stage of some critters may be swept into the current and make it over. You can help it along by transferring a few scoops of sand from #1 to #2. I understand your concern about the cyano but, that has probably already invaded #2.