PDA

View Full Version : Test Kit Question

Dragline322
07-26-2007, 07:55 PM
Hi, I am new to saltwater and have a bio cube 14. Check the pics out here
http://www.talkingreef.com/forums/nano-reefs/4687-new-biocube-14-up-running.html

I have only been cycling for a week, and I know that I am far from close to being ready to add corals, or fish or anything. I figured that during the cycle period my levels of undesireable things such as ammonia, nitrite, nitrate would be high anyway so I havent even tested the water for anything other than salinity yet. I was wondering if one brand of test kit was better or more reliable than the next? any advice in this area would be greatly appreciated.

CarmieJo
07-26-2007, 08:39 PM
Hi Dragline,

You actually want to test ammonia, nitrite and nitrate to "see" your cycle as it takes place. I use a combination of API and Salifert kits. I recommend avoiding test dip strips and any test kit that gives you readings like "low, good, high" instead of numbers.

Dragline322
07-27-2007, 08:10 PM
How often shoud I test... and what all should I be testing for?
I know for the cycle I want Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate... But there are alot of other test kits out there, also Will I be better off going with something like Salifert where each test kit is individual, or getting a master test kit whcih includes the basicis in one kit and then adding the others?

lReef lKeeper
07-27-2007, 09:26 PM
i use API, seachem, and salifert. anything that did not come in the API kit i bought seperately in either seachem or salifert kits.

NaClFinatic
07-27-2007, 09:29 PM
I like the API tests I have. They seem easy enough to use, of course since I haven't tried anything else I can't speak to if they are accurate or not!

CarmieJo
07-27-2007, 09:41 PM