PDA

View Full Version : DSB vs BARE BOTTOMED???

salt-rookie
05-25-2007, 12:25 PM
Rob:
I have now listened to all of your poacasts. I'm a life long hobbyist, who switched to saltwater in 2002. After 39 years in freshwater, I find saltwater to be far more rewarding and a challenge that I can NEVER conquer in one lifetime! Dr. Ron Shimmek's work on the DSB was what sold me on trying saltwater. The DSB seemd such a natural way to operate a saltwater reef. After he decided his original position was flawed, and the DSB COULD be lying in wait to dump phosphates, heavy metals, etc. at will into my tank and kill everything, many people moved to barebottomed systems. The podcasts focus VERY favorably on the DSB......What are your thoughts on barebottomed systems? Could you please do a pros/cons of each system and why you feel the way to do?

V
05-26-2007, 01:46 AM
Robs out back scrubing the deck after a big night of drinks with the fosters girls, it kinda got delightfully messy, so i'll grab the microphone for just a sec & say this......... i like milk.....strawberry milk............................:D shaken, not stired!

worlds quickest explo, DSB nitrate potentials offset eventual deposits.america is bias to DSB.

BB besides being one of my nickname can give greater flow freedoms, expanded realestate & a funky looking floor limited by your own imagination.

Now if you'll excuse me, a the crappy show called south park is on.

*oyeee rob, you missed a spot*

Larry Copperband
05-27-2007, 11:22 AM
Umm......lol Fond memories of suggestions the deeper the better.Sandbeds.

CarmieJo
05-27-2007, 11:09 PM
People are successful with both systems. I like the look of a DSB and am willing to put the work into maintaining it.

fat walrus
05-27-2007, 11:11 PM
I have been in this hobby for a very long time and what I have observed is that different tank bottoms tend to change every few years and sooner or later it always comes around in a full circle.