PDA

View Full Version : How much can a Megaflow really overflow?

bullfrog
04-19-2007, 11:57 PM
Does anybody know how much overflow an AGA Megaflow can handle in real life? AGA says they're supposed to handle 600 gph through the pipes. I have a 180 AGA with dual Megaflows and was thinking of building a closed loop manifold like Anthony Calfo describes here (http://www.advancedaquarist.com/issues/sept2003/short.htm). But instead of running out of the sump, i thought of just pulling the water out of the bottom of the overflows and running a pump level with the top of the tank to feed the closed loop manifold. I've heard that the grills on the Megaflows can't really handle that much flow. So I was thinking of cutting them open like this (http://www.rl180reef.com/180/pages/standpipe/mods/megaflow.htm). I'm still brand new to this, so if I could get some opinions on my idea from people with real life Megaflow experience that would be great.

NaClFinatic
04-20-2007, 12:29 PM
Proceed with caution as your limiting factor may be the bulkhead size and not the overflow inlets. Also I would prefer my overflow drain to be oversized and not pushing the limit incase of any buildup in the pipes or some debris slows it down. In that situation you could end up overflowing the tank.

I think that what Calfo shows is not a closed loop but just a differnt way of doing a return. I think a real closed loop takes water directly out of the aquarium and puts it directly back in just to create current. It does not give any chance of flooding unless the connections leak.

saxman
04-20-2007, 01:07 PM
Proceed with caution as your limiting factor may be the bulkhead size and not the overflow inlets. Also I would prefer my overflow drain to be oversized and not pushing the limit incase of any buildup in the pipes or some debris slows it down. In that situation you could end up overflowing the tank.