PDA

View Full Version : new 150 gal reef tank

MaryLou
04-07-2007, 10:33 AM
I am setting up a brand new reef tank and thought I would document my progress and get alot of help/tips on this thread as I go along. These are pictures of my tank as recommended by my LFS. Advice which I found out, was not the best. :no: The guy in the fish store had me set up a 30 gal refugium, with a few pieces of live rock and a mag 950 gph pump. (which I learned was woefully inadequate) He told me to separate the live rock from the pump with an 8 inch plexiglass wall, and that would be a sufficient filter system. After searching for a lighting system on the internet, I happened upon Dick from the Cultured Reef, who is having a refugium made for me. :cool!: As soon as I get this, I will post more pictures. I have read several books, but I have been learning more from these posts! I thank you all for any help you give me! I am new to salt water, I have had several freshwater tanks, including a 55 gal tank, for many years, but this is a very different experience! :D http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b41/incubus0344/DSC01246.jpg
http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b41/incubus0344/DSC01247.jpg

keyozoxmfc
04-07-2007, 10:52 PM
WELCOME MARYLOU!

you made a great choice picking talkingreef! everyone here is very nice and helpful!

your tank looks llike its gonna be great! your refugium doesnt look all that bad, but what kinda are you havent made for you tank? is it acrylic? you may also want to incorporate a protein skimmer in with your refugium

JayBeDriften
04-07-2007, 11:29 PM
First of all welcome to Talking Reef and looks like its going to be the basis of a nice setup.

chase33
04-08-2007, 11:19 PM