PDA

View Full Version : Curing Live Rock

djarmb
02-11-2006, 11:33 PM
I'm a newbie with my first fish only live rock tank. It is cycled with two damsels, some live rock and a few inverts. I'm going to add new live rock and purchased some uncured lr from the LFS. I'm curing it in a bucket before i introduce it to the tank according to most instructions I've read but my question is this. The lady I bought the rock from said I should feed flake fish food to the uncured live rock while it's going through the curing process. None of the sites I've been to mention feeding while curing the live rock. Is this a good idea?

By the way your podcasts are excellent and have helped me immensely. Thanks for all the hard work.

Reefbaby
02-12-2006, 01:24 PM
Welcome djarmb!

Hmmm....I don't think that I would add any kind of food to the curing process. I think it would just prolong the process. Just make sure to be patient and to aerate the bucket well while it's curing....

Good luck!

gwen_o_lyn
02-12-2006, 01:35 PM
Welcome to TR!!

I don't recommend cycling with damsels. I've heard that catching them and removing them from the tank isn't always easy and that people have ripped their tank apart trying to get them out, also its very stressful for the fish to try and live through a cycle. Consider taking them back to the LFS before you add more LR.

LR is all you need to cycle a tank. Let the LR sit in your tank at least 8-12 weeks before adding any critters. Patience in this hobby will get you very far. ;)

And no I wouldn't feed the LR :)

Rob
02-12-2006, 01:42 PM
i agree with gwen 100%
cycling a tank is cruel and unusual punishment. (even if it is an evil little damsel)
the only reason this practice started is that damels are one of the few fish that are strong and hardy enough to tolerate the extreme conditions that occur during a tank cycle.