PDA

View Full Version : Can someone help me id this?

An-Ma
01-04-2007, 04:48 PM
This is bought as a BTA,but I have no clue what kind.

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c115/an-maant/TR2.jpg

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c115/an-maant/TR.jpg

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c115/an-maant/TR1.jpg

It has lately been stressed alot,first by the A. Clarckii,that I think is to big for it.
The Clarckii loved it so much,that the Anemone responded by getting "bleached". Then by me,moving it to a bigger tank.
It started to recover until I,by accident,put my arm on it (yes,that did hurt,and I ended up sick).
I thought it would die after all this,but three days ago,this "thing" split up:o . So now I have two..... Would be nice to know what I have two of....
It is not very big,around 3,9 inch,before the split.

raermo
01-04-2007, 06:55 PM
I'm not an expert and its hard to tell from pictures but that looks exactly like a long tentacle anemone that I use to have. Anemones usually split when they are not happy/stressed, I think that is the case with yours. How often do you feed them? - Rachel

An-Ma
01-04-2007, 07:38 PM
To often,I`m afraid...... :sorry:
Every day,and sometimes twice a day......

lReef lKeeper
01-04-2007, 09:35 PM
it looks like a bubble tip to me. of course you dont have the bubbles, but mine rarely does either. looks to be a green (only because it looks EXACTLY like mine, and mine is a GBTA).

it is not nessecary to feed the anemone all the time. that is one of the jobs of the clownfish. thier symbiotic relationship is that the fish feeds and protects the anemone and the anemone protects the fish.

Rob
01-04-2007, 09:44 PM
that is a BTA, i agree with Bobby.
i do say that feeding should be done unless you can confirm that your clown is doing it, i have had a few that didn't, so observation is key here...

lReef lKeeper
01-04-2007, 10:01 PM
good point Rob, guess i should have put that in there.

wildeone
01-04-2007, 10:56 PM