PDA

View Full Version : good cannon macro lenses

RealChange
10-03-2006, 08:03 PM
i just got the rebel xti with the stock lense. i think it was 17-55 or something. i was looking to get a good macro lense. does ne1 have any suggestion? sample pix would be nice.

heres a pic i took with the regular lense. im a newb at picture taking so dont laugh.
im still trying to get used to iso speeds and apature levels.

Amphibious
10-03-2006, 11:02 PM
I have the Nikon D70 and wanted a Macro lens. the Nikon, I think it was 30 to 70 zoom Macro was around $1000, ooops, can't do that. The guy showed me a Tamron 30 to 70 Macro for $599, couldn't do that either. The Tamron was a very sweet lens, however. What I finally settled on was to cheap it out with a set of 3 close-up lenses that fit over my Nikon standard lens. $64, works just like Macro. They came with a 1x, 2x and 4x and can be used together for several different Macro effects. I'm happy with them and saved a ton of money for reef things. :agree:

Great picture!

CarmieJo
10-03-2006, 11:23 PM
I have a Nikon D50. I have 2 Nikon & 2 Tamron lenses. But like Dick I am using close up rings for macros. I have to save my $$ for those lights.

Amphibious
10-04-2006, 12:47 AM
Good thinking, girl.

rroselavy
10-04-2006, 01:29 AM
i just got the rebel xti with the stock lense. i think it was 17-55 or something. i was looking to get a good macro lense. does ne1 have any suggestion? sample pix would be nice.

heres a pic i took with the regular lense. im a newb at picture taking so dont laugh.
im still trying to get used to iso speeds and apature levels.

Your picture is well exposed. I think a better lense may give you better sharpness over the standard rebel lense, particularly if it is a prime lense. Zoom's are handy, but rarely offer the speed and sharpness of non-zooms since they have more glass.