PDA

View Full Version : When to take the cycling shrimp out

bmwaaron
07-11-2006, 10:09 PM
Hello all, after I started my cycle when do I take the raw shrimp? does it just decay down there or should I remove it at some point?
Sorry Rob I listened to all the Cycling podcast like 4 times each and didnt hear if you mentioned it or not.

PiscesGirl
07-11-2006, 10:13 PM
I'm new at this..but I listened to the Podcast's too.
Are you testing?
IF so I think your levels should all be at zero...meaning everything is balanced. I think that means you can take it out and add some livestock??

I'm curious on this too. :)

Not much help, but your post caught my eye. ;)

Resa

fat walrus
07-11-2006, 10:13 PM
that shrimp is a goner. no hope of saving it for yourself. let it go man. lol. it is probably gonna long dissolved by the time the cycle is complete.

bmwaaron
07-11-2006, 10:21 PM
So in other words I dont have to remove it?
That sucks I was gonna send it to Evan for a taste test! :p

CarmieJo
07-11-2006, 10:21 PM
Once you see ammonia start climbing you can remove the smelly, fuzzy, slimy or choose your own adjective shrimp. You don't have to wait to add the LR, you can do that at the same time you add the shrimp.

bmwaaron
07-11-2006, 10:26 PM
Well the LR is already in.
I already have Pods climbing all over my rocks and actually have a Xenia.
I was lucky and got all my LR from a friends tank so its all established. I am adding about 40 -50 lbs more of cured LR but it is being shipped so it will have some die off. I hope I dont mess up the cycle to bad by adding more LR to the refugium

bmwaaron
07-11-2006, 10:30 PM
Oh on a side note, I messed up ordering my test kits :cry:
They should be here tomorrow. I planned to pick them up locally but my LFS ran out of the paticular brand kit I wanted. So I had to 2 day order them from Marine Depot. Im so bummed that I cant be testing until tomorrow.