PDA

View Full Version : New Setup and to the forum (hi)

cmay
07-08-2006, 03:02 AM
Hi,

I'm a total beginner in marine fish so please except my apologies for my lack of terminology.

I would like to thank Rob and others on a fantastic site and the pod cast are great, I now enjoy my long drive into work now :)

I've fallen for the beauty of marine life, the colours, coral, fish and the fact I can set up and watch my own eco system in my home.

My objective is to set up a my tank with live rock, fish, SPS/LPS coral and various other live stock which will support and live with each other.

I'm planning to set my rock on a raised egg island (using spray bar going down and under the rock to improve water flow and filtration through the rock) and position water flow jets in various other places (close system)

Im planning os a 4" LDSB for my biological filter and animals to borrow ?

After the water has reached the correct PH levels and temp im going to add the live DSB and rock, leave for a good 2 months before introducing fish and probably another 6 months or more before coral, im under the impression the slower the better in order for the eco system to adapt and produce optimum cycling, also get to watch my live rock come alive

Im currently designing my sump which is limited to space, looking to add two story with refugium (slowly fed from T junction going from overflow)

32mm x 2 overflows
20mm x 2 current close loops

Equipment:

54 gal gal tank
2nd hand Deltec APF600 protein skimmer
3 x 4k ltr h pumps (I can pull/reduce flow if required)
2nd hand Deltec APF600 protein skimmer

4 stage RO unit from RO-MAN / inline TDS meter.

Loads of piping and various valves/couplers......

PHP & salinity meter

2 x MH 14k (250w)
2 X T5 Aqua Medic - Full Spectrum White, marine (39W)
2 x T5 Aqua Medic - Blue , marine (39W)

2 x T5 blues (to use in the morning to bring the light slowly back up to full daylight (MH) and back down to blues and then no light) if you see what im saying